Techno International New Town (Formerly known as Techno India College of Technology)

Admission Helpdesk
+91 9674112076/2079 
  • tict_header_pic011.png
  • tict_header_pic0222.png
  • tict_header_pic05.png
  • tict_header_pic06.png

Events at TICT

ASME Tech quiz
Thursday, August 29, 2019, 10:00am - 05:00pm
Hits : 479

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) student chapter promotes art, science and practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe. On August 29, 2019 the department of Mechanical Engineering of Techno International New Town, in association with ASME student chapterorganised a Tech Quiz, in which a total of 35 teams (consisting of 4 members each) registered themselves as participants.

The event was inaugurated with the felicitation of the honourable Director of the college, Prof. (Dr.) R. T. Goswami, the venerable Registrar of the institute, Prof. (Dr.) S.P. Ghosh and respectable Dean of Academics, Prof. (Dr.) ­­­­. The welcome address was delivered by Director Sir, which was followed by a short speech by the head of the mechanical department Prof. (Dr.) T. K. Nandy, who then handed over the proceedings of the day to Prof. Ranjinee Basu from Basic Science and Humanities Department.

The elimination round began with the 35 teams who were handed out a set of 15 questions and after tallying the scores, the top 20 teams were chosen. With these 20 teams, the competition proceeded and with each round, the competition got more and more interesting. The questions ranged from current technical affairs to technology used in movies and even included visual clips. The most interesting aspect of the competition was that the three final teams to qualify for the final round had representatives from the first year, the second year as well as the third year. Ankit Kumar, Ishan Singh, Rupam Acharya and Siddhartha Rakshit from ECE, 1st year bagged the first prize after beating Ankit Kumar Gupta, Arkendu Garai, Mujammel Haque and Maheshwar Banerjee of ME, 3rd year, who secured their places as the first runners up. Anish Banerjee, Ahitagni Roy and Anirban Samanta of ECE, 2nd year bagged the third prize.